(425) 771-3600
(253) 859-2488
(425) 771-3600

Protection orders are intended to prevent contact between people in hopes that controlling contact will prevent abuse or altercations. There are several types of protection orders in Washington State, so it is important you understand what is available and request the option that will best serve your needs. “Contact” can refer to a variety of interaction between two people and it can also apply to a variety of locations and scenarios.

The four types of protection orders in Washington State include:

  • Domestic Violence Protection Order: a civil order issued at the request of the alleged victim who has claimed domestic abuse.
  • No Contact Order: a criminal order issued following an accusation of assault. It is intended to protect the victim from the accused and it is intended to prevent the perpetrator from making any contact, physical or otherwise, with the victim.
  • Anti-Harassment Order: a civil order issued when a person claims any type of harassment that does not occur within a domestic relationship.
  • Restraining Order: temporary or permanent order filed as part of a divorce proceeding, child custody dispute, or any other type of existing family law case. The term “restraining order” is sometimes used as a catch-all to describe protection orders, but it really only refers to a specific type of order.

What Happens if a Protection Order is Violated?

Violating any protection order in Washington State is considered a criminal offense. If it can be proven there was an order in place, the violator was aware of the order, and an action taken violated the order, the violator will face criminal penalties.

There are two potential outcomes when a protection order is violated:

  • If the violation did not include assault and it is the first or second violation, it is considered a gross misdemeanor and will result in up to 364 days in jail and a $5000 fine.
  • If the violation did include assault or there are two previous violations of the order, the offense is a Class C felony and will result in a maximum sentence of five years in jail and a $10,000 fine.

It should be noted that according to Washington State law, it does not matter if the violation was consensual. This is often the case when protection orders are in place in family or romantic relationships. The violator will still be held responsible for criminal misconduct, regardless of the alleged victim’s wishes and no law exists to prevent victims from initiating contact.

Working with an Attorney that Understands Protection Orders

At Feldman and Lee, P.S., we work with both domestic violence victims and those wrongly accused of domestic violence.

Victims receive assistance:

  • Obtaining an emergency order
  • Communicating with the alleged abuser during hearings
  • Extending an existing protection order
  • Protecting your rights and ensuring you and your children are safe during the divorce process

If you have been falsely accused of domestic violence, we will:

  • Provide legal representation during divorce and custody cases
  • Represent you when the need for communicating with your accuser arises, such as hearings and court
  • Provide a defense against allegations of domestic violence and child abuse

If you believe your safety is at risk or you have been accused of threatening someone’s safety, legal representation is essential. Contact Seattle area domestic violence lawyers Feldman and Lee to discuss the details of your case.

Contact / Office Location

Lynnwood Office
19303 44th Avenue West
Lynnwood, WA 98036
Phone: (425) 771-3600
Fax: (425) 775-8016

Kent Office
604 West Meeker Street
Suite 206
Kent, WA 98032
Phone: (253) 859-2488
Fax: (253) 859-2295

Marysville Office
519 Beach Avenue
Marysville, WA 98270
Phone: (425) 771-3600
Fax: (425) 368-3610